Economic warning – DO NOT cook beef short ribs on a bed of garlic served with red wine reduction and celeriac mash.

Beef Short RibsSorry about the long headline but I have been talking to my butcher. He tells me that beef short ribs or Jacob’s Ladder, as it is known in trendier spots, is becoming quite chique. If the normal rules of economics prevail, prices will rise as popularity increases. So, don’t cook it. We want to avoid inflation here in Ireland. Things are bad enough. It is not as nice as it looks so don’t cook it. Please. I speak from bitter experience. I bought some beef ribs and decided not to follow Richard McGary’s excellent celeriac mash recipe because I know better. I also decided to use four bulbs of garlic as a bed for my beef. Big mistake, you would not like the mellow flavour released over five hours of slow cooking. I compounded my errors by making a red wine gravy from the slow cooking juices. Don’t try this. The end result is awful. Just to be on the safe side, here’s the list of ingredients to avoid:

  • 2 beef short rib racks (enough to feed eight)
  • 3/4 of a bottle of strong red wine.
  • 4 bulbs of good garlic. 8  if you are using Chinese stuff from the supermarket.
  • 1 celeriac
  • About the same weight of potatoes as celeriac
  • Salt, pepper and balsamic vinegar
  • Milk and butter for the mash

Here’s what I did so you can avoid doing it, not that you will be buying the short ribs anyway. I seasoned the meat on all sides and splashed on some, but not too much, balsamic vinegar.

Beef Short Ribs

The ribs seasoned and not over splashed with balsamic vinegar.

I popped the beef into a hot oven (220 degrees C) for half an hour.

Beef Short Ribs

After half an hour at high temperature. Looking good but you would not like it.

Then I took it out and lifted it out of the roasting pan. put in a bed of garlic cloves and returned the beef.

Beef Short Ribs

Lots of garlic. It turns a beautiful sweet flavour in the long roasting. But, you need not try it.

I poured in the wine. I used a pretty decent Ripasso. That does not matter because you will not be cooking this dish.

Beef Short Ribs

An obligatory pouring shot. The good wine added. What a waste, I hear your thoughts.

I turned the oven down to 150, covered the dish with foil and put the beef back into the oven. I left it there for four and a half hours. I took the beef out, poured off most of the wine / beef liquid into a pot and returned the beef to the oven for another half an hour.

During the beef cooking time, I got to look at the celeriac. My eldest wanted to know why I was cooking a vegetable brain.

Celeriac

The brains of this operation. The celeriac root does look pretty odd.

I peeled and chopped this and steamed it for roughly as long as I did the potatoes.

Celeriac

Chopped celeriac in a bowl of water to prevent it turning brown and yucky.

When they were cooked, I drained the pot of water and added the celeriac and potato, milk and butter. I mashed them until they were smooth. Then I gave them another go to be sure. This is not relevant as you will not like or cook this dish. I don’t know why I am writing about it.

I removed the beef from the oven and left it to rest for 10 minutes.

Beef Short Ribs

One for the camera. the ribs and garlic look pretty good. Not worth cooking even though the beef is pretty cheap.

I used the time to  separate the fat from the rest of the cooking liquid and reduce it in a pot. I put about 600ml of wine into the dish and the final reduction is about 100ml. The flavour was intensely beefy and winey. You would not approve. I added a small amount of roux (flour and butter mixed together) to thicken and glaze the sauce. While it looked very nice, you would not like it. Trust me. You don’t want to prepare this dish.

I cut the beef, sat it on a pile of the celeriac mash, served a few sweet garlic cloves on the side and poured the sauce over it before serving.

Beef Short Ribs

Hard to convince you that this is not the best thing you will eat all year. Please don’t.

While my lot scoffed theirs and were totally approving, think of the economy, think of inflation. Don’t do it!

124 thoughts on “Economic warning – DO NOT cook beef short ribs on a bed of garlic served with red wine reduction and celeriac mash.

  1. Conor,

    My favourite, looks lovely, did a short rib braised in stout last winter! And yes, as soon as everybody discovers the so called cheaper cuts, which isn’t that cheap also, it becomes more expensive. So please listen to Conor so that the rest of us has something nice and cheap to enjoy!

    Love your recipe and what you did here!

    Regards,

    Willie

    Like

      • Conor, I’m in the Cotswolds having eaten my first Jacobs ladder bought in the trendiest butchers in the area. After devouring it with roasted vegetables and a red wine gravy my friends googled the cut as none had heard of it before. Your blog came up first and we laughed at your description. Not as much as I laughed when they mentioned the author and it was you!!!! Small world or what. Hope you’re in great form, Best Ken (Hutton)

        Like

        • Ha ha! That really made me laugh Ken. It is a small world indeed. I have been doing this for the past couple of years for a bit of escape and for fun. It is bizarre who reads it and where they are. I went into a wine shop in St. Emilion today and the lady there told me she was a regular reader. That was before admitting to it. Small world indeed. I hope you in top form (as you always seem to be). I am on hols BTW, I have not yet moved to France.

          Like

  2. If I had any intention of cooking this, which I don’t, I might thank you for the helpful pictures and method, but I won’t. Beef short ribs are probably one of my least favorite cuts of beef and I especially hate it when they get slow cooked so they just fall of the bone and melt in your mouth. Who wants to give up the joy of chewing? Not me.

    Like

  3. I just did short ribs with Porter. It was horrible! One cut that used to be cheap, at least here, is the pork sirloin steak. Price on this tender piece of meat has doubled. This dish looks about as awful as mine was! One question: What does celeric taste like? Celery? Best to you C – B

    Like

  4. Conor, I’m so disappointed. 😦 Cooking vegetable brains is bad enough. Then to go to a construction site and steal Jacob’s ladder to braise it with wine and garlic. 😮 What were you thinking???? I’m sure glad you didn’t post any photos of that debacle. Now, what is that delicious looking piece of meat upon that fluffy bed with that mouthwatering sauce? That’s what I am talking bout. It’s probably too expensive for me to afford, not to mention the long cooking time requiring unnecessary usage of our precious unsustainable, non replenishing fossil fuels. It also looks like beef which Baby Lady doesn’t eat. I won’t be cooking this but whatever it is, it sure looks good. 😉

    Like

  5. Regardless of the economy, ridiculous to think that beef ribs and garlic slowly cooked in red wine with a flavoursome mash would work as a delicious dinner. Crazy. I’ll only be trying it as I think we should spend our way out of a recession.

    Like

  6. I like the sauce method. I tend to get over excited with my sauces – I reduce and reduce till I’m left with a glutinous mass that is more like jelly than sauce. Next time I’ll stick a bit of roux in there. and your comment about things being bad enough in Ireland is making me think things over here are even worse than I feared – I mean Ireland isn’t mentioned in the news at present which means the British press must have lost interest in your misery only because ours is getting worse. Happy days!

    Like

  7. Sadly, every time I find a relatively cheap cut, it becomes popularized by the foodies and then the price goes way up. I used to buy hanger steaks cheaply and last time I went to the butcher, they were $9.99 a pound! I guess we just have to stay one step ahead.

    Like

  8. I so glad that you explained why we shouldn’t prepare this dish…it cost, taste and work involved plus the strange vegetable. If you hadn’t, I sure I would have wanted to try it…the photos are so deceiving.

    Like

  9. Of course the one problem living in the Antipodes and coming on late is that everyone has already put their thinking caps on and left writer’s block behind and whatever you want to say has been better said 🙂 ! So thank you for a recipe just printed out: think I’ll frame it as a bit of a kitchen decor – why not!! Look at it sometimes . . .

    Like

  10. Those short ribs could not look any better than they do in your last photo, Conor. Serving them atop a celeriac mash is a great idea!
    You’re right, too, about their prices rising. Over here, once the cooking shows make note of some ingredient, it isn’t long before the prices rise. Short ribs have already gone up — hopefully no more.

    Like

    • I was watching a BBC food programme the other evening. They were showing how to cook the perfect pork roast. I had visions of empty shelves in every pork butcher in the city. People lack any real personal imagination. We marketing people love that…

      Like

  11. Oh Conor. Thanks for this very helpful public service announcement. I won’t think about these gorgeous short ribs at all today. Nor will I even consider making them myself. You are truly a civic hero.

    Like

  12. Sorry to be a pedant again Conor but celeriac is not the root of a celery plant, it is a separate yoke (a related varietal, a root vegetable with a bulbous hypocotyl says WIki) that happens to taste like (but not exactly like) celery. I’ll have a look for some French short ribs and try to confirm the un-necessity to cook this dish, as I won’t be adding to Irish inflation by doing the research. Tough job but someone has to make the sacrifice…

    Like

  13. Since I’m in another country, I assume we have a green light. This meal looks so good there is not a proper adjective nor string of them to do it justice. I’d bring some lovely bread to soak up the sauce and slather the roasted garlic.
    What a meal. Thanks for posting it!
    And congrats on the award- I hadn’t seen it previously. Well deserved. cheers… wendy

    Like

  14. Thank you for another eye festing recipe. Although I must admit my tast bud are now completely in shamble as they know I will never prepare it and give them the pleasure of tasting it.
    And all that good wine… saved from a dish that we will never enjoy.
    Thank you Conor, I always enjoy reading your blog and congratulations on your award.
    Giangi

    Like

  15. Delicious! One of the funniest posts I’ve read in a long time. How incredible is that last shot too, 🙂 Btw, as I’m in Australia and we seem to have an influx of plentiful cattle and ribs, does that mean I can make this dish in droves and improve the economy in Australia ?!? I certainly hope so!

    Like

  16. I’m sorry, I’m sorry. Market prices will have to be put aside this time. One must try all! Even though it tastes dreadful, I’m sure, one must persevere and taste such disasters as this.

    Fingers crossed I don’t ruin the market single-handedly…

    Like

  17. Pingback: Mussels in a Spicy Tomato Sauce | REMCooks

  18. I purchased some of these only this week! I will definitely NOT try this for today’s lunch, to have with creamed potatoes, French beans, tender stem broccolli and finishing with banoffe pie…… Such a shame.

    Like

  19. I am so upset – I found the recipe by accident. My wife didn’t read the warnings and we ate it- do not eat or cook it is too scrumptious for words – fortunately there wasn’t much left for me. Amazing …… Ly awful.

    Like

  20. Pingback: Reactive Cooking » Blog Archive » Jacob’s ladder

  21. Born in Dun Laoghaire? My grandmother lived in a house on Belgrave Road, Monkstown for many, many years. Am very much enjoying your blog – have subscribed!

    Like

  22. Oh dear, no wonder my butcher has just laughed at me when I parted with a whole £8 for two massive JLs for the second time this month…. what a complete waste of money, gas and garlic.Oh and the wine!

    Like

  23. Pingback: This looks awful | My Thought Bin

  24. Pingback: Beef Short Rib Tagine with Orange and Prunes | Mrs Portly's Kitchen

  25. Yup, it looks pretty damned awful (I certainly won’t try it).

    My butcher used to try to sell beef ribs (the long way around) a couple of years ago for pennies, but nobody wanted to buy them as their ovens/BBQs weren’t long enough. He is a grumpy old sod, but I noticed last week that he has discovered that he can cut them across the bone and sell them for 10x the price.

    I’m reminded of the butcher in the village that I used to live in, who complained that the only people (who apart from me) who would buy them was a Venezuelan family for some ‘strange South American BBQ dish’ that they made for their family. From memory, they would sell a whole rack to me for £0.50.

    Those were the days (but only 10 years ago)!

    Like

    • It’s a sad truth. The humble lamb shank, pig’s trotter and pork knuckle have all gone the same way. Skirt steak and flank steak have also fallen foul of the glare of publicity. I blame the J Olivers and H F Whittingstalls of this world for ruining this little wheeze we have enjoyed for so long. I suppose, like all good things, it had to come to an end. Still, the short ribs are incredibly tasty, no matter how much we have to pay.
      I love the idea of the grumpy butcher trying to sell the entire ribs and getting frustrated by his own lack of imagination. Thanks for the comment Paul. You made me smile.
      Best,
      Conor

      Like

  26. Stumbled across this while searching for Jacob’s Ladder. Don’t think I’ve ever laughed out loud so many times while reading a recipe. Brilliant writing.

    Like

    • Thanks Pete,
      Very good of you to say so. But, learn the lesson. Don’t cook those short ribs, what with the stock markets the way they are this week!
      Thanks for visiting and for the lovely comment.
      Conor

      Like

  27. My son Conor + daughter Sorcha will home for Easter. I know they will offer it up by helping me ( not) relish this. I will be putting up the price in the UK so don’t Worry

    Liked by 1 person

    • I probably can forgive moving prices in the UK right now. This will be counterbalanced by Brexit and a huge fall in the value of sterling. We in Ireland will back in equilibrium before you can say “Boris for PM”.

      Like

    • Have a look at my Fool’s Stew, posted today. Tasty, for sure. On a more serious note, the only way to get really great tasting chicken is to go truly free range. They cost a small fortune but are worth it.

      Like

Join the conversation. Please leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.