Rump of lamb – Not a favourite with the name dropping crowd.

Rump of lambThere is a tendency in many social circles to ‘name-drop’. I hate it. Only the other day, I was saying this to the Queen of England and she told me that neither she nor Michelle Obama approve of it. Bad enough at dinner parties and gatherings where people hob-knob but this ugly behaviour has now spread to food blogging.

I don’t approve of the practice of putting in gratuitous links throughout posts. These links are often grovelling to preferred suppliers or preening references to those further up the social scale (like David Lebovitz). This type of grovelling disgusts me.

Now that I have that off my chest, I will get down to the business of cooking Rump of Lamb with Seasonal Vegetables and Red Wine Reduction for the Wife, my blogging daughter Lucy and myself.

John Sheridan of the fine John’s Meat Co. suggested that I try it. It is pretty popular in top Irish restaurants, or so I hear. I am sure that both the magnificent Jamie Oliver and the brilliant Nigel Slater would approve. As would awe-inspiring Irish chefs Richard Corrigan and Derry Clarke.

You will need: 

In preparing this, I did not follow a recipe by wonderful James Martin or by the inspiring Martha Stewart. In fact, I thought of it all on my own.  First I parboiled the potatoes and took a photo of them.

Potatoes and rosemary

I took all the photos for this post with a Canon fixed 50mm lens. A lot of moving the camera and tripod around.

Then I got my Limerick parsnips (from the Milk Market in that fine city).

Parsnips unwashed

Some fine Limerick parsnips. They sell ’em dirty down there.

Once washed, peeled and chopped, I mixed them with olive oil and smoked paprika.

Parsnips and paprika

Parsnips and paprika – This has to be the easiest way to add big earthy flavour to a meal.

The potatoes were chopped and tossed in oil, salt, pepper and rosemary. Then they and the parsnips were put into a 200 degree C Neff oven for 20 minutes.

Rump of lamb

Searing in the pan. I had no time to think of dropping any names as I had to get the meal to come together in short time.

Seared on all sides and into the oven with the lamb. I then took it out and let it rest while I deglazed the pan with the Chateau Petit Gravet 2006.

Chateau Petit Gravet 2006

A fine vintage of a pretty pleasant drop. Not all of it was for the deglazing. Not by a long way.

I felt obliged to name the drop, rather than drop another name. Chateau Petit Gravet 2006 was one of the wines picked up in France a few years ago. Excellent value and a beautiful wine.

Paprika parsnips

A fairly close up of the paprika parsnips. I highly recommend them. Now that I have met them, I am obliged to drop their name: Paprika Parsnips.

The whole dish worked harder than a name dropper at a B list celebrity funeral.

Rump of Lamb

Rump of Lamb does not have the cachet of Rack of Lamb. It probably will not get mentioned at social climbers gatherings.

The cut of meat comes from an area between the leg and the rack. It is pretty inexpensive, beautifully tender and easy to cook. Not being a rack or a fillet, it will not have its name dropped in many butcher shops. Not until it becomes fashionable. I hope I am not helping in that process. I know that paragon of the culinary arts Gordon Ramsey would not approve if I did.

57 thoughts on “Rump of lamb – Not a favourite with the name dropping crowd.

  1. That looks delicious! Right there with you on the pretentious food talk- transglutanising meat (what is that? I can’t even spell that!) and other such stupid topics make just want to scream! It makes me just want to give up and make a piece of toast & blog about it 😉

    Like

  2. If ever in your part of the world I will certainly have to see the Friday City Market, the Famous Saturday Market and the Sunday Variety Market. On Monday I’ll popover and have lunch with the Queen.

    But in the meanwhile I’ll see if Lindy and Grundy have some lamb butt.

    Like

  3. I spoke to both Jamie and Martha and they asked me who you were. When I mentioned that you were the fellow with the lamb rump and they told me that they still did not know who you are…c’est la vie. Robert Parker might have poured that same wine, and I will have to call him and check to see if you used the right wine. I also submitted your article for consideration to Wine Enthusiast Magazine. This was after I got off the phone with Michelle O. She thinks you are a dear! Have to dash as I am having lunch with William and Kate in a short bit and need to glam myself up with Harry Winston!

    Like

  4. Thank god you dropped in Gordon. I was getting worried. And so now I know you use a tripod. I have a tripod, and I couldn’t find anything useful to do with it. Now it has a reason for being. Cheers.

    Like

  5. Well, I kind’of wondered why I signed up for another blog > moi!! I guess now I know. Coming from THE [ 🙂 !] sheep country Down Under the meat is thoroughly appreciated, more so the parsnips [which I love] cooked with paprika [which I have been to stupid to use!]! Methinks I am onto a learning experience as long as I do not print links or drop names 😀 !

    Like

  6. Hi Conor, really loved that post ! I’m so glad you don’t do all that name dropping stuff – it would really upset me to know that you were inappropriately telling people about John’s Meat Company or even if you were slightly biased towards other butchers even if they weren’t of the calibre of butchering that I John Sheridan of http://www.johnsmeatco.ie sets in our field 🙂

    Like

  7. (A) How long did your rump have to cook for in the oven?
    And (B) I cannot believe that the Rump, the Rosemary and the Salt/Pepper got no links!
    The name dropping is fierce in Blogtopia. You have learned well on that note.

    Like

  8. I bet Ina Garten and Martha Stewart disapprove of name-dropping too. But me (and I’m sure them) approve of this rump. Those paprika parsnips look amazing. I’m totally making those.

    Like

  9. I’m surprised you haven’t heard from your buddies David, Nigel, Jamie, Gordon and the rest of the lot… what’s up with that?
    The lamb and parsnips/potatoes is a winning combination. And Saint Emilion is in my top five for reds. wendy

    Like

  10. The only thing worse is people who make comments and manage to drop their own name in their own comment, on someone else’s blog, and it is so obviously transactional in nature. Ugh, I need some of that wine!

    Like

Join the conversation. Please leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.