Demarcating the internet for everybody’s benefit.

My eldest is very competitive. Some say, too competitive. When she started her travel blog, Shallow Pockets Travel, I helped her out where I could. I learned a lot by the process. In fact, that is what prompted me to start this blog. My experience previously was restricted to our company blog at advertising.ie.

For a time, all went along well. Eldest daughter (ED) enthused about her latest post and numbers of hits and so forth. I offered fatherly encouragement to her endeavor. Meanwhile, I quietly worked away cooking, photographing, writing and posting in my free time. All was well in our little blogosphere and in our home. Or was it?It would appear that there are more people out there interested in food than travel. My evidence for this is in the stats. While ED enjoyed some success with her travel writings, it just looks like more people want to read about my endeavors in the kitchen. Naturally, I offered my encouragement and assistance where I could. She has not taken this well. Things came to a head and her resentment spilled over recently when she announced that she was starting a food blog of her own.

I had mixed emotions about this. Would she start competing with my blog? A blog that I write as a way of escaping from the world of commerce and competition. Would this move come between us? Would it become a source of rancor and discord in the homestead? Her first post was difficult to swallow even if the lemon meringue pie that she created was anything but.

I decided to take control of the situation and agree lines of demarcation with ED. I tackled this over some food. What better way to ease a difficult topic along than with Soufflé Omelette with Mixed Berry Compot? It is a very simple dish taught to me many years ago by my mother.

You will need:

  • 4 eggs
  • 250gms of mixed berries (frozen are perfect)
  • A dash of Cremé de Cassis or Sirop de Cassis
  • Butter for frying

Yes, you know what that is on the eggs. They are from the Wicklow Hunter who also keeps organic, free range chickens.

The frozen berries. It is a small pot, not big berries.

Put the berries and the syrup into a pot and reduce them down into a lovely jam.

The berries bubbling on the stove top. You got to love this shot.

Separate the eggs. Whip the whites into soft peaks.

Whip those egg whites. They deserve everything they get. Don't show any mercy until they are in soft peaks.

Add a small amount of water to the yolks and whip them up a bit. Gently fold them into the whites.

Careful now. Fold the yolks in very carefully to preserve as much souffléness as possible.

Melt the butter in a medium hot frying pan. Add the egg mixture. Cook until cooked. The underside will be a rich brown colour and the soufflé bit will have set somewhat.

The only really tricky piece. Getting the omelette from the pan onto the plate.

Spoon the berry mixture over one side and fold over (like in the picture).

Berry mixture added and omelette folded.

Serve this beauty.

The soufflé omelette in all it's glory. Don't leave it like that for long.

We ate it between us (4 eggs). ED had never tasted an omelette like it.

Sorry, I just had to take this shot. The omelette is as delicious as it looks.

We resolved our differences. She is happy to leave me alone with my manly, meat focussed musings. I am very happy that she is cooking some wonderful deserts. Just so long as my stats hold up. Tell your friends. Please!

The proof of the pudding is in the eating, as they say.

19 thoughts on “Demarcating the internet for everybody’s benefit.

  1. Now that is the most super-luxurious omelette you’ll ever see.
    Fortunately for me I’ve got a couple of years left until my children start taking me on at my own game and winning. I mean they’re taking me on right now at everything. They just aren’t winnining. (Except computer games – I am thoroughly pasted re computer games)

    Like

    • I have just been given it in the neck for not putting enough links to her blog. I have rectified the situation and complied in the interests of being left alone while I have a bath.

      Like

  2. Travel and Food are the two most popular tags on WordPress. I think it is far less about the subjects (which are close in rank) and the due diligence of promoting ones work. You must simply do it better and I am sure that will not go over well with your eldest 🙂

    Cheers to your superior blogging skill and wonderful food!

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness, a family rivalry in food blogs! This should make for a very delicious battle indeed.

    Looking forward to reading more from both of you 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: Monday Musings « Forks in the Crossroads

Join the conversation. Please leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.