Chicken with 40 Cloves of Garlic. It almost writes itself….

Chicken wiht 40 cloves of garlic (1 of 1)It’s such a wheeze. Blog posting, I mean. All you have to do is have an idea and start typing. Easy. It’s so simple, particularly when you have a dish called Chicken and 40 Cloves of Garlic. It practically writes itself. All you have to do is type out the various ’40’ related ideas that present themselves and fling in a simple recipe. What could be easier?

Well actually, that is not the whole truth. Because just like Ali Baba, somebody has whispered “Open Sesame”, snuck into my mind, and stolen all the ’40’ ideas. So, I will have to work at this a bit. Let’s start with the ingredients.

Cooking it was easier than writing about it. So few ingredients!

Cooking it was easier than writing about it. So few ingredients!

Ingredients

  • 8 chicken legs
  • 8 chicken thighs
  • 40 cloves of garlic
  • 4 stalks of celery
  • A handful of tarragon
  • 2 onions
  • A glass of Vermouth
  • Half a nutmeg
  • Salt and pepper to season
  • 4 cubes of highly concentrated chicken stock, if you have made some. (Optional).
  • A loaf of sourdough bread to accompany

Back in the 1930s, there used to be a mendicant in Dublin called Johnny Forty Coats. If you can find  way to work him into this, you are doing better than me.

The first thing to do is to separate out the cloves. Then slice up the onions and celery.

Chicken wiht 40 cloves of garlic (1 of 1)-2

There is more than 40 slices of onion. Why does the name not stick. “Chicken with lots of onion”, perhaps?

Brown the chicken pieces in the bottom of a casserole.

Chicken with 40 clover of garlic (2 of 12)

I could give you 40 reasons to use good corn-fed chicken. That would be stretching it.

Remove the chicken when it is nice and brown. Add the celery and onion. Place the chicken on top, season and pour in the Vermouth.

Chicken with 40 clover of garlic (7 of 12)

Did you know that 40 different botanicals are used to create the 4 styles of Martini?

Place in the 40 cloves of garlic and chicken stock (if using).

Chicken with 40 clover of garlic (8 of 12)

The concentrated chicken stock adds a huge depth of flavour. Worth making it, for sure.

Sprinkle it with the tarragon and grate over the nutmeg.

Chicken with 40 clover of garlic (9 of 12)

I grated it 40 times in an effort to get some forty related thoughts going.

Place a tight-fitting lid (add a layer of aluminium foil) and place it in the oven for 40 minutes (yes, 40) at 190ºC.  Toast the sourdough, pour some nice wine. Serve and enjoy this deliciousness.

Chicken with 40 clover of garlic (11 of 12)

The garlic is so delicious, 40 cloves are not near enough!

The garlic is best squeezed onto the bread and then spread like a thick layer of butter. Despite my complete failure to get even a half decent forty related theme going, this dish is delicious. You could even say it was fortifying. Give it a go.

70 thoughts on “Chicken with 40 Cloves of Garlic. It almost writes itself….

    • Roger,
      I suspect that I would not have bothered with the vermouth except for there being the dregs of a bottle sitting at the back of the press for a decade at least. On the French Chardonnay, I will be over there doing some comparative tastings later in the year. All in the interests of science, of course….

      Like

  1. This looks amazing – I will definitely try it with some of our naked neck chicken. In Middle Eastern culture and literature 40 is used to represent ‘a lot’ rather than 40 – so the 40 thieves were just a lot of thieves (40 days and 40 nights ??) – would it work with the garlic thing I wonder ??

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Delicious, everything, really! I love the garlic and the bread part a lot. A friend of ours did the same. Every time he would serve soft yummy, oily cloves of garlic to put on bread for an appetizer. Ah, and by the way, the bread looks perfect. I miss the good German bread 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Seriously, did you actually count out 40 cloves or garlic, or was it more a case of “1..2..3…lots”? And do you suppose it would taste different with 30 or 50 instead? You’ve given it your best go with the forty-derivatives, but I think you’ve missed fortitude, of the sort necessary to face the dragon breath that ensues from such liberal garlic consumption. Still, num num!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have to fess up. I used three bulbs. There were 43 in total. But, if I got into trying to write a post called Chicken with 43 cloves of garlic, you would all have thought I had gone off the deep end. Fortitude would have been wonderful Though, I was proud of fortify….

      Like

  4. I made this WAYYYY long ago (40 years ago? No that would be stretching it but close) after my mom gave me one of those Junior League spiral-bound recipe books in college that had this recipe. I’m not too sure it had the Vermouth in it though. You might not have those types of cook books in Dublin, but they were quite the rage in the States back then. They were fundraiser cook books, replete with canned tuna casseroles, molded jellos with fruit and marshmallows, and yes, 40-clove garlic chicken. You did a fine job with this. Thank you for the inspiration to make it again, it’s been way too long.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. First of all, so glad that you used chicken legs and thighs. Chicken breasts — note I did say “chicken” — breasts are so overrated and I rarely prepare them. I’ve seen similar recipes but never thought to prepare one and cannot figure out why. It calls for 40 cloves of garlic, for criminy sakes. That alone should have called to me years ago. Enough! I’ve got to make this. Thanks, Conor.

    Like

    • John, I am shocked that you have not ventured into this part of garlic heaven. You have to redress that. I do remember, about 30 years ago, an old chap in a gentlemans’ club on Dublin’s St. Stephen’s Green chortling to a group of us that he was “a breast man”. Despite my lack of religion, I’m more catholic in my tastes.

      Like

  6. Here’s one for you, Conor, although you did touch on it slightly. U2 have a song called ’40’ which is only ever played at the end of their gigs. I’d wager that by the time this amount of garlic rocks up, just like the song, if you haven’t scored by then, it’s time to go home with satisfaction of a different kind.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you for calling up a wonderful memory. When I was a child, my mother made a dish similar to this one – the forty cloves of garlic is the tie-in. Needless to say, it was delicious, this dish sounds delicious, and we were all wonderfully aromatic for a while. By the way, “fortifying?” – ouch.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Very ‘you’, Conor (and that is a compliment, obviously). As 40 is a pretty random number, you could have made it easier by picking another one. Like 50. There must be… 50 ways to cook a chicken. Just make a new plan, Stan, don’t need to overcook, Luke, add some more salt, Walt, and get you some cloves.

    Like

  9. Of course I’d give it a go … not just 40 times but time and time again now that I’ve bookmarked the awesome recipe 🙂
    Brilliant idea with the garlic-y chicken. Yum-yum pictures. Enjoyable write-up. My time well-spent here…as always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Conor Please help. 6 for pre theatre supper. Not the ubiquitous lasagne!
    I need tasty receipe I can prepare ahead. Any ideas Please

    Like

    • Lamb shanks are great as they slow cook over 4 hours or so. If you want to prepare something the previous day, any of the chilis on the blog will do the trick. Don’t be afraid of overheating your guests. My 85 year old Mum, who is not mad about hot stuff approves. There is a corn bread recipe too along with one of the chilis. That can be done 24 hours in advance too. Hopefully this helps.
      Best,
      Conor

      Like

Join the conversation. Please leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.