Fond memories of a big-hearted Texan food blogger.

The McGary Chilli Challenge. Some of the best cooking fun possible.

The McGary Chilli Challenge. Some of the best cooking fun possible.

On 9th of October 2015, I learned of the passing of my food blogging colleague Richard McGary, of Dallas Fort Worth, Texas. One could take the view that I shouldn’t have been very upset. I had never met Richard. However, in the four years I have been writing this blog, there are very few people who would have had more of an influence on me than that kind, sharing and convivial man. 

When I thought of writing something about bereavement, I started to feel a bit of a fraud. Given that I never have, and now never will have, the pleasure of Richard’s company, writing of loss seemed disingenuous of me. However, those feelings don’t cover it. Over a long period of time, Richard and I conversed at least a couple of times a week. That’s more than I talk to many members of my close family. Richard gave me an education in Texan and Mexican cooking. He opened my eyes to the amazing range and subtly of flavour in those often mis-understood cuisines. I well remember the fun and excitement generated by ‘The McGary Chilli Challenge’, a wonderfully generous and entertaining competition set for Stefan and me. His fun approach to the Board Meeting posts reflected so well on his personality. My friends Stefan Kees and Mimi all got to visit with Richard and Elia, Richard’s beloved wife and the Baby Lady of pouring shot fame. 

Richard’s influence has led to the repertoire in our household being expanded. We now have Masa flour, Achiote paste, a huge range of sweet, smokey and hot chilis, a tortilla press and an understanding of ingredients that otherwise would elude the average Irish cook. 

But, I have much more than that. Just like one of those wonderful ‘frozen in time’ pouring shots on the REM Cooks blog, I have memories that, though now frozen in time, make me smile and have kind thoughts of Richard, my Texas food blogging buddy. R.I.P. 

36 thoughts on “Fond memories of a big-hearted Texan food blogger.

  1. What a wonderful way to remember your friend! I’m so sorry to hear about him passing away. Even though you don’t meet IRL, blogville friends grow a special place in our hearts that somehow grows stronger. Hogs and snout kisses. XOXO – Bacon

    Like

  2. I am sorry for your loss. I really think that you don’t need to necessarily meet someone for them to be a part of your life or for them to have made an impact on your life. He obviously did that for you and I hope that, in time, your memories of your conversations will sustain you and give you comfort.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Richard was huge fun. He was also very generous with his professional advice. He was a lawyer and gave me deep advice on how to deal with my photos being nicked. He went to lots of trouble when there was no need for him to do so. You would have got on very well with him. He was a big flavour guy. Do have a look at his site, linked above. You will love some of the stuff going on there.

      Like

  3. “He opened my eyes to the amazing range and subtly of flavour in those often misunderstood cuisines”…. A heartfelt tribute to your amazing blogger-buddy.

    May his soul rest in eternal peace and happiness.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so sorry to hear about this, but what a beautiful tribute to someone who expanded your food horizons and even though you never met in person, you could say you were close. You were food soulmates, which is no small miracle. Those Mexican ingredients are a true asset to a kitchen. I’m sorry for your loss and it is a loss for you. It’s beautiful to see such a lovely tribute.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m not certain how I stumbled upon your post but I must thank you. I had the absolute pleasure of knowing Richard. I was fortunate to have him cook a meal for me in his home (fabulous!). He had several dinners with us (in St. Louis, Missouri). My husband worked with him and I was the tag along (lucky) wife that got to know him (and his beautiful wife, Elia). I believe I first met him on our turf and he was wearing his cowboy boots and hat and that BIG smile he always carried with him. We went to the best restaurants when Richard was in town and enjoyed fine wine. When we managed a trip to Dallas we were welcomed in their home and I was amazed at the art of his cooking. I’ve been grieving the loss of our friend and your post brought me such a smile. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Erin,
      Many thanks for sharing these thoughts. I will be in Amsterdam with Stefan and Kees in a couple of weeks time. They made the trip over and were welcomed with McGary generosity and friendship. They had the pleasure of cooking with Richard and Elia. Stefan has spoken with great warmth of both of them. It was to have been a future trip of ours. Sadly, this will now not be.
      Best,
      Conor

      Like

Join the conversation. Please leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.