Ireland’s Greatest Ingredients part 1 – Crab claws with garlic butter.

Crab claws in garlic butter (7 of 8) I have to give you a little bit of background to this post and the inspiration for this new, occasional series, Ireland’s Greatest Ingredients. A couple of weeks ago, I had the pleasure of meeting Liam Quinlan. Liam is a Kerryman (nothing wrong with that) and is passionate about the seafood that his family company produces. Liam travelled to Dublin by train. I met him at Huston station and we spent a few hours together. Liam brought me a styrofoam box. “Just some crab and a bit of salmon for you to try.” he said in his self deprecatory way. 

One of the things that impressed me most about our conversation was the passion that Liam has for Kerry seafood. They catch, process and retail their own fish, exporting a good deal of it to enthusiastic customers on mainland Europe. We were lucky enough to try some crab claws and some lovely crab meat. The crab is cooked in salt water, giving it a unique flavour. Today, we’ll concentrate on the crab claws. When ingredients are as good and fresh as these, simple preparation is the golden rule.

Imagine my embarrassment when I realised that I had left one of the four ingredients out of the shot.

How did I manage to forget the garlic? Four ingredients, for goodness sake!

How did I manage to forget the garlic? Four ingredients, for goodness sake!

The ingredients:

  • 12 prepared crab claws
  • 3 cloves of garlic or one single bulb garlic
  • 120 grammes of butter (1 stick American)
  • 1 handful of fresh parsley

Melt the butter over a low to medium heat.

There is no doubt that Irish butter is the best in the world.

There is no doubt that Irish butter is the best in the world.

Chop the garlic and add to the butter. heat it until the aroma of garlic butter fills the kitchen. Don’t over-heat the butter.

The wonderful garlic butter smell will drive you wild.

The wonderful garlic butter smell will drive you wild.

Add the crab claws to the butter and warm through.

The claws take on the glorious garlic butter taste.

The claws take on the glorious garlic butter taste.

Add the chopped parsley and toss to coat.

The fresh parsley works perfectly with the garlic and sweet crab meat.

The fresh parsley works perfectly with the garlic and sweet crab meat.

Serve the crab claws once they are heated through. Spoon the delicious garlic butter over the claws.

Any excuse for a pouring shot. Not often I get to pour butter!

Any excuse for a pouring shot. Not often I get to pour butter!

I can’t relate to you how delicious these claws were. The meat was sweet and tasted perfect with the garlic, butter and parsley. The picture tells its own story.

There's not much else to say about how tasty these were.

There’s not much else to say about how tasty these were.

I look forward to cooking the crab meat (any suggestions welcomed). These Kerry crab claws really are a worthy first in my Ireland’s Greatest Ingredients series.

60 thoughts on “Ireland’s Greatest Ingredients part 1 – Crab claws with garlic butter.

    • I was in two minds about posting these MD. Mind 1 said that there was no cooking involved, just warming some butter. Mind 2 said that they were spectacularly tasty and getting the butter / garlic / parsley balance was pretty skilful. Needless to say, Mind 2 won the debate.

      Like

  1. Crab cakes. You know, just fresh white breadcrumbs, a bit of mayo, a bit of mustard, a bit of seasoning (sage, celery salt…), an egg. Introduce them, turn up the music, let them party. Patted gently into cakes, fried in Ireland’s finest dairy product till crispy and fabulous. Excuse me, I have to go and wipe the drool off my chin.

    Like

  2. Shriek!

    That looks so delicious I think I’m going to explode. This sort of content should be expunged from the Internet, Conor. I feel compelled to immediately seek out seafood, which of course won’t be as fresh or delicious and my sense of comparative disappointment will be devastating.

    No pressure or anything 🙂

    Like

  3. That looks delicious (as always!) As for other ways to use the crab, I got 2 words for you: OLD BAY.

    I think that someone farther up the thread gave a crab cake recipe. There’s no crab cake like a Maryland/Chesapeake crab cake. And that’s gotta have the OLD BAY. Lemme know if you’re interested in a recipe.

    Like

    • Thanks Yinzerella, Our crab and your crab are pretty different. The meat from ours tends to be in smaller chunks (smaller crab) and the recipes tend to be different. Having said that, fire through a recipe and I will see if we can make something wonderful from it.
      Best,
      Conor

      Like

    • Yes Stefan, I have yet to plant some garlic in the garden. I believe it grows pretty well here. I have done a crab and goats cheese ravioli before and it was spectacular. I also have a recipe from Liam Quinlan that I want to adapt too. There could be a lot of crab meat recipes floating around at this rate…

      Like

  4. There is nothing finer that a simple preparation to showcase perfect crab claws like you were lucky enough to have…garlic butter was a terrific choice. Your comment about wanting crab cakes for breakfast would be a good choice for the crabmeat. I like to order eggs benedict that are prepared with crab cakes, they are delicious.

    Like

    • Thanks Amanda, It would be a crime to do much more than this. Though, I have a plan to wrap some on prawn meat and deep fry them as part of my Easy Oriental series. It qualifies as I once had something similar in a Chinese restaurant here in Dublin.

      Like

  5. OK! OK! You kind’of crossed the Channel for that garlic, but – oh boy!! I can smell them here and now, I can taste them and my lovely lunch just past suddenly became totally non existent . . . .

    Like

  6. Looks and sounds beyond delicious…but you won’t have a better crab claw or crab cake until you’ve tasted blue crab from the Chesapeake Bay and prepared on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. 😉 Happy cooking!

    Like

  7. There is nothing like eating some fresh-caught crab I tell you! As one reader pointed out, catching your own seafood and eating it makes it all the better (myself included). I’m dreaming of the fresh Dungeness crab we’ll be catching in a few months here in the Pacific Northwest.

    I really want to reach right through my screen and grab one of those!!!

    Like

  8. The claws look great. I do similar with blue crab claws but as we catch them, mine are raw. I bake the cracked claws in the oven with garlic, butter, parsley, a little chilli and lemon. Too good! A lemony risotto finished with crab meat is good too.

    Like

Join the conversation. Please leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.