Spanish Inspired Monkfish, Chorizo and Bean Stew

Monkfish and Chorizo Stew (16 of 17)Perhaps this should be retitled “We have a decent bottle of Spanish wine and we had better drink it before it goes off.” My only reservation with that is, while true, it might not tell the recipe story. It is the inspiration but not the dish. So, let’s stick with Spanish Inspired Monkfish, Chorizo and Bean Stew as the title and please forgive the mentions of the seventeen year old bottle of Faustino 1 that went with (and in) the food. 

The Wife and I were idling at home on a cold, damp, winter evening. I fancied a nice drop of red. A visit to my much depleted cellar (read: largely empty wine rack in the disused dining room.) suggested it was time to open the bottle of Faustino that had been hanging around for a number of years. Herself also thought this to be a good idea.

There aren’t too many monkfish recipes (not that I know) that would support a robust, seasoned red wine. Monk and chorizo is a great combination. This led me to rummage the presses and see if I could come up with the ingredients for a Spanish style stew to go with the wine. My eventual ingredients list includes a tin of butter beans that have been hanging around the cupboard for nearly as long as the wine.

Two kinds of paprika add some depth to the Spanish flavour.

Two kinds of paprika add some depth to the Spanish flavour.

Ingredients:

  • 400 grammes of fresh monkfish tail
  • 2 uncooked Chorizo sausages
  • 1 onion
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • 2 peppers
  • Half a teaspoon of smoked Spanish paprika
  • Half a teaspoon of hot Spanish paprika
  • 1 tin of butter beans
  • 1 tin of tomatoes
  • A decent squeeze of tomato purée
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 glass of that 17-year-old Spanish wine
  • Flour for dusting
  • Oil for frying
  • Salt and pepper to taste and for seasoning the dusting flour

The first thing I did was to open the wine. I really believed that after so long in my sub-optimal storage conditions, the wine would have to go straight down the drain. Thankfully, my fears were groundless and I set up a shot, as you do.

I wonder who the guy in the big hat is? Big hat, big shirt and a big wine!

I wonder who’s the guy in the big hat? Big hair, big hat, big shirt and a big wine!

To prepare this stew, you need to follow these easy steps. First slice the chorizo into chunks and put them on a medium hot dry pan. We want them to sweat their fat just like a new gym member in January.

The chorizo give up it's fat easily. Don't over-cook these beauties.

The chorizo give up its fat easily. Don’t over-cook these beauties.

While the chorizo is slimming down, chop some onions and add them to the pan.

Like an Irishman on his first Spanish holiday, the onions take on a nice red colour.

Like an Irishman on his first Spanish holiday, the onions take on a nice red glow.

Soften the onions and then add the peppers that you have sliced while the onions were softening (you know what I mean).

I love this shot with the little wisps of steam (I might be losing it).

I love this shot with the little wisps of steam (I might be losing it).

Soften the peppers and then add the bay leaf.

Yes, a big picture just for the bay leaf. It's important!

Yes, a big picture just for the bay leaf. It’s important!

Next add the tomatoes, and everything else in the tin.

A tomato pouring shot! Is there no end to the things one can pour?

A tomato pouring shot! Is there no end to the things one can pour?

Then rinse and add the beans.

I was going to say "bean there, done that." but, that would have made them has beans.

I was going to say “bean there, done that.” but, that would have made them has beans.

Next add the paprika.

Don't overdo the paprika. The two sorts add a nice warm glow and some depth of flavour.

Don’t overdo the paprika. The two sorts add a nice warm glow and some depth of flavour.

Follow this with the tomato paste.

About that much should do it nicely.

About that much should do it nicely.

Then man up and pour in some of that gorgeous wine. It is not going to waste. It adds an extra dimension and helps the wine in the glass to integrate with the dish. You will have to trust me on that.

This was hard to do. It's 17 years old for goodness sake!

This was hard to do. It’s 17 years old for goodness sake!

Give the pot a good stir and let it come to a simmer. Slice the monkfish into chunky pieces. Dust them with seasoned flour and, in a different pan, lightly brown them.

Lightly brown them. There should be an expression "golden them". That is what we want.

Lightly brown them. There should be an expression “golden them”. That is what we want.

Don’t cook them through. Remove them and add them to the stew. Turn off the heat and let the fish finish cooking in the residual heat.

Monkfish pieces cooking in the residual heat. A couple of minutes will do the trick.

Monkfish pieces cooking in the residual heat. A couple of minutes will do the trick.

Side note on not over cooking the monkfish: Don’t overcook the monkfish. It will turn to leather faster than you can say “cuero” (That’s Spanish for leather).

Add a sprinkle of parsley and a big squeeze of lemon juice.

The lemon juice also adds another dimension of flavour. It works well.

The lemon juice also adds another dimension of flavour. It works well.

Pour a couple of glasses of the Faustino and serve to an appreciative guest or two.

One quick shot of the monkfish before it went on it's final journey, washed down by that glorious glug.

One quick shot of the monkfish before it went on its final journey, washed down by that glorious glug.

This takes very little time to prepare, as long as you discount the 17 years the wine was hanging around. I would encourage you to try it. “El vino complementa el cocido a la perfección.” as they say in Google Translate.

Bon apetito.

51 thoughts on “Spanish Inspired Monkfish, Chorizo and Bean Stew

  1. Howya Conor,
    Thank You, now I remember! I had a spicy chicken casserole type thing similar to this in a Spanish restaurant a while back and it was so good. I’m sure it was made in much the same way as yours and I forgot about it till now. By the way, yours looks bloody gorgeous!

    Like

  2. This is so gorgeous. I love Spanish food as you know and I was just eyeing a gorgeous monkfish. Such great flavors here! And I drink wine with all of my good Spanish meals. Que rico! Muy bien hecho! Beautiful photos too.

    Like

  3. Great post, Conor, I absolutely love the photos. The paprika sprinkling shot is amazing and the first plates shot has great colors, composition and depth of field.
    Interesting how older wines are often either delicious or awful. Great this bottle worked out for you!
    Monkfish is one of the few fishes that can handle red wine, although such a hefty Spanish red seems quite a daring choice. Good idea to add the tomatoes and chorizo to help in that respect, as well as make it more Spanish. The lemon again is daring.
    And of course you didn’t overcook the fish. Lovely!

    Like

  4. Pingback: (VIDEO) #fromtheheart: iWontLose Inspiration

  5. I don’t know what I liked best. The sausages “sweat[ing] their fat just like a new gym member in January” or the glow of the onion “like an Irishman on his first Spanish holiday.” Oh, yeah, and the food looks pretty good too. 🙂

    Like

  6. What a great winter stew, Conor. I’m craving a bowl right now. Actually, I could just eat those fried up pieces of chorizo, but I know stopping there would be a travesty. Seventeen years seems worth the wait.

    Like

    • Thanks Mimi, kind words indeed.
      The Wife is on the road to recovery. It has been a bit of a struggle but she is the most positive person I know and that is half the battle. Onwards and upwards!

      Like

  7. I can see that there’s such a delicious warmth to this stew. I feel greatly sad and yet (relieved) that it’s not quite stew weather here in our Sydney Summer. I look forward to the day when there’s a slow braise or a pot of something spicy and comforting, just like this!

    Like

  8. Gosh, lucky you Conor,
    this poor’s man lobster tail is one of my wish list to cook, i once almost had it in french restaurant, but once i order it, it’s out of stock..
    waht a shame…
    btw, is that monk fish as succulent and crisp as lobster tail???

    Like

  9. Nice recipe, Conor, and great photos. Lots of pouring shots; so, Baby Lady is gong to have to up her game. I like monkfish but it really is as expensive (if not more so) than lobster. It is perfect to make a ballotine. Here is a gratuitous, self-serving link. 😀

    Serrano Ham Wrapped Monkfish with White Asparagus Sous Vide


    Also, it’s a seasonal treat in DFW and hard to find fresh. I would think lobster would work well with this as would prawns. In fact, given the stronger flavor of prawns, the latter might be a better choice.

    Like

  10. Pingback: Mediterranean-inspired Fish and Chorizo Stew | foodNowYes

  11. My husband wanted monkfish and chorizo kebabs but it just didn’t feel right on this rainy, windy night. I came across your recipe and convinced my hubby to give it a go. so glad we did. Beautiful thick sauce and so tasty. I added a little chilli but otherwise kept to your recipe – thank you.

    Like

Join the conversation. Please leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.