Upside Down Two Mango Cake. Go cheap, go dry.

Upside-down Mango CakeA while ago, I prepared a fig tart tatin. That worked pretty well for a first attempt. In fact, it worked extremely well. With the enthusiasm of the first time lucky, I decided it would be a good idea to try another dessert. I had a spare mango in the fruit bowl and the tatin success had me thinking of upside-down desserts. 

Naturally, this led me to concocting an upside-down mango cake. As with so many of my forays into unknown culinary country, things didn’t work out exactly as planned. If I wanted to make this a great cake, I should have spent the money and gone for two mangos. So while the cake was pretty good, it was a bit on the dry side. Thankfully, there is a solution for that; whipped cream.

Hardly worth photographing. The ingredients.

Hardly worth photographing. The ingredients.

Ingredients:

  • 110 ml milk
  • 200 grammes of butter
  • 225 grammes of caster sugar
  • 260 grammes of self-raising flour
  • 1 vanilla pod
  • 2 eggs
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 3 teaspoons of brown sugar

Scrape the vanilla seeds out of the pod. Add it to the milk and whisk it in with a fork.

Not a very good shot of the seeds being scraped. My excuse: Detailed work requiring two hands does not make for an easy shot.

Not a very good shot of the seeds being scraped. My excuse: Detailed work requiring two hands does not make for an easy shot.

Whisk together the eggs and the sugar until it is nice and light. Soften 15 grammes of the butter and add it to the mixture a bit at a time.

My first action shot. Eggs and sugar beating.

My first action shot. Eggs and sugar beating. Get it nice and light.

Next, add the flour about a quarter at a time. Do likewise with the milk mixture, alternating with the flour.

A nice sloppy end result is desirable (for once).

A nice sloppy end result is desirable (for once).

Melt 50 grammes of butter in a nice pot with the sugar and the lemon juice.

I can take out my mango frustration on the lemon.

I can take out my mango frustration on the lemon.

Pour the resulting mixture into in a lined 9″ cake tin. Feel free to admire my new silicon cake ‘tin’.

This smells lovely. The mix of butter, lemon and sugar is very tempting. It's also very hot.

This smells lovely. The mix of butter, lemon and sugar is very tempting. It’s also very hot.

Chop the mango into nice chunks. Darnation! I should have used two mangos.

One of the benefits of cutting mango is the tasty bits that never make it to the cake.

One of the benefits of cutting mango is the tasty bits that never make it to the cake.

Put the mango in the cake tin. Add the cake mixture.

I REALLY should have used two mangos.

I REALLY should have used two mangos.

Pop this into a preheated oven at 160º C for 35 minutes. I left mine in for 45.

I suspect I could have taken it out earlier. It might not have been quite so dry.

I suspect I could have taken it out earlier. It might not have been quite as dry.

Let it cool. Turn it out on to a rack and remove the parchment paper.

For the last time, I'll mention the lack of mango. Time to think cream!

For the last time, I’ll mention the lack of mango. Time to think cream!

Let it cool. Whip some cream and get ready to serve.

Yep, a good dollop of cream saves the day. That is if dollop = half pint.

Yep, a good dollop of cream saves the day. That is if dollop = half pint.

My verdict on my own efforts. It needed a good dollop of cream but it tasted really good. The lesson from this post: Get the second mango.

39 thoughts on “Upside Down Two Mango Cake. Go cheap, go dry.

    • You are too kind in your praise. BTW, I looked at that chicken recipe. It’s no wonder he ate the deep fried banana sandwiches. The chicken looked pretty boring. As my children are wont to say to me “Just sayin…”

      Like

    • Thanks Amanda,
      I think the mixer is about as old as I am. If not, it is certainly a good number of years ahead of my children, both of whom are into their twenties. Like myself, it still functions and makes too much noise.

      Like

  1. Hallo Conor,
    Mangoes are dirt cheap at the moment in SA (± a £1 for 6 large mangoes), it is middle of the season and they have bright red skins, soft to the touch and the flesh is nearly orange in colour, dripping with sweetness and so much juice that one might suffice to make for a wet cake. Sorry to say but that one of yours look a bit unripe to me, hence the light yellowish colour of the flesh. Still a good effort!

    Regards,

    Willie

    Like

    • Thank you Willie for your complete honesty and for making me so jealous of the quality and inexpensive mangos you enjoy. My youngest brother was with us for dinner this evening. He is over here on a trip from his home on Dar es Salaam. He too pointed out the crappy nature of the mangos. I did my best, I had that one in the press ‘ripening’ for 2 weeks before I used it.
      Stay well,
      Conor

      Like

  2. Lots of great pouring shots, Conor, and even a very nice paper removal shot 🙂
    I really like the photo of the finished cake with the cream that seems to come out of a floating jug.
    (Interesting by the way that whipped cream is a lot less whipped than is customary in these parts.)
    I don’t like mangoes here because they are indeed a bit crappy compared to the real thing available in sunnier parts of the world.
    What might also help is to use egg yolks instead of whole eggs to make the cake less dry. Eggs are needed to give the cake structure (hold it together, rise), but the egg whites will also make it drier.
    Good idea to make this cake upside-down, which ensures that the mango pieces (even from just the one mango) will be on top of the cake.

    Like

  3. Conor, I usually don’t make suggestions, because that’s just not me, until now, that is. This cake really does look lovely, and I think if you’d have diced up the mango more, maybe macerated it in a little sugar, or stirred it up with a little jam, it would be a perfect cake. But it also looks delicious with that lovely cream added. And we all need an excuse to add cream!

    Like

    • Thanks Mimi, I am always open to suggestions. Particularly when they are as sensible as these. The maceration appeals to me as it would have heightened the mango flavour. The cream covers a 1,000 crimes.

      Like

  4. Looks absolutely delicious! I’m currently in South East Asia and I have become addicted to mangos of all types!!! Yum yum 🙂

    Like

Join the conversation. Please leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.