The Ego Has Landed! Boo Yeah!

Not many people know me well. I’m a pretty private kind of guy with a narrow focus of interests. Those who do know me, know that I am not big on self promotion. I rarely coddle myself with dramatic expressions of ego centric boastfulness or vulgar displays of self-congratulatory indulgence.

By writing this blog, I have allowed a certain number of you to lift a small corner of the dark shroud that envelops my being. That comfort blanket that has protected me from slights and emotional injury has been raised ever so slightly. I have been nervous about it being lifted. I have viewed each comment on my various posts with foreboding, nervous that more of my inner self will be exposed. All that was until late last week……

I was amazed when Four Blue Hills awarded me the Sunshine Award. My ego started to wake up a little and perhaps feel some pleasure in the recognition.

Things started to get a bit out of hand when Tasha at foodashion.com nominated me for two awards, the Versatile Blogger and The Very Inspiring Blogger Award. With each of these and the Sunshine Award I was beginning to feel like Cuba Gooding Junior when he was awarded his Oscar.

Nothing could prepare me for another Versatile Blogger nomination from Steph at Cultural Quirks.  This was going too far. Part of me now believes that ye all got together and decided to have a bit of fun at my expense. Thankfully most of me feels more like Halle Berry did when she made her famous oscar speech in 2002.

Forgive my paraphrasing the great Halle:

Oh, my god. Oh, my god. (much blubbering) I’m sorry. This moment is so much bigger than me. This moment is for my long-suffering wife, my two daughters, my extended family. It’s for the woman who stands beside me (wife again), Eldest Daughter’s Boyfriend and all occasional diners at our table. And it’s for every nameless, faceless bald, middle-aged food blogging man that now has a chance because this door tonight has been opened. (more blubbering) Thank you. I’m so honored. I’m so honored. And I thank the Blogosphere for choosing me to be the vessel for which this blessing might flow. Thank you. etc, etc ad nauseum…..

Now to the business end of things:

The Sunshine Award

Now, with this award, I must answer the questions provided and which are below:

  • Favourite colour –  None
  • Favourite Animal –  Dogs
  • Favourite number – Don’t have one.
  • Favourite non-alcoholic drink – Water
  • Facebook or twitter – Both. And +Google and sending letters in the post.
  • My passion –  Cooking, photography, rugby, family (not in that order, of course).
  • Getting or giving presents – Giving NOT – Getting, of course.
  • Favourite pattern – Male pattern baldness. I have had it for so long…
  • Favourite day of week –  Sunday
  • Favourite flower –  Begonia Rex

I must now choose ten blogs to present the award too.  I would like to try to present them to blogs who have not received this award.

  1. Gourmet Deconstructed
  2. Steeltown Delicious
  3. Cooking In Sens
  4. Four Meals
  5. Frenchie and the Yankee
  6. I Can Has Cook
  7. Danny’s Kitchen
  8. Brunette a Bicylette
  9. The White Trash Gourmet
  10. Happiness Stan Lives Here

These are in no particular order so don’t get offended if you are near the bottom of the list. Thank you very much, 4 Blue Hills, for the award and the nomination.  I am very honoured (Carry on like Halle for 10 minutes again)…

The Very Inspiring Blogger and the Versatile Blogger Award

THERE ARE 4 RULES TO FOLLOW
#1 Thank the person who nominated you and link back to them in your post
Apart from the Cuba Gooding and Halle Berry type stuff above, I have to thank Tasha at Foodashion’s Blog for nominating me for both awards and also Steph at Cultural Quirks for the second nomination for The Versatile Blogger.

#2 Share 7 things about yourself
i. Born and bred in Dublin Ireland.
ii. Married with two (sort of) adult offspring.
iii. Enjoy Leinster Rugby and, at time of writing, I am expectant of another European Rugby Cup win on May 19th.
iv. Cook for fun and not for profit. If I cooked for profit, I could not afford to cook.
v. Don’t have a lucky number or favourite colour.
vi. Am not supersticious but I don’t walk under ladders, I do throw salt over my shoulder if I spill some and I do salute a lone magpie.
vii. Don’t like revealing too much about myself.

3 Pass the award(s) onto 15 Bloggers you enjoy.
Only 15? Here we go:

  1. Gourmet Deconstructed
  2. Whole larder love 
  3. Steeltown Delicious
  4. Life in the Foothills
  5. Cooking In Sen
  6. Four Meals
  7. Frenchie and the Yankee
  8. I Can Has Cook
  9. Marinating Online
  10. Danny’s Kitchen
  11. Brunette a Bicylette
  12. The Scrumptious Pumpkin
  13. The White Trash Gourmet
  14. Happiness Stan Lives Here
  15. Decidedly Delicious – I admit it. She’s my daughter.

#4. Contact the bloggers you have chosen and let them know that they have been nominated!

As I was told too, you are not obligated to do this but I think you are great at what you do and deserve recognition.

Now, I love you all but I’m off to polish my trophies.

20 thoughts on “The Ego Has Landed! Boo Yeah!

  1. Congratulations Conor! And thank you for the awards — I appreciate just being nominated! Just so you know though, from now on, I’m going to associate you with Halle Berry! 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you for the nominations! And congratulations to you!! It’s so nice to have a little recognition (and to have the opportunity to reference Halle Berry). Keep up the good work!

    Like

  3. I’m delighted to get two nominations in one hit. I simply hate talking or writing about myself though – obviously blogging is an entirely altruistic hobby. I mean its not like I enjoy people reading about me me me!
    I wonder why I started – i think its the marketing thing inside me. Self promotion isn’t the right phrase but there is something about showing the world that doesn’t know you what you are really like…

    Like

    • I was at a dinner the other evening and one of my friends (taking the piss) introduced me as the Eminent Food Blogger Conor Bofin. I turned a bright red colour and laughed it off. I then discussed the strange combination of shyness in a group and total abandon over the internet. One girl at the table pitched in “That’s being a webtrovert. It’s a common condition.” Damn!….

      Like

Join the conversation. Please leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.